Our Heavenly Father Loves Us.

There are not many things in this world that I know to be true, but this is one thing that I know to be true without a doubt in my mind. I’ve come to this knowledge through my own experiences, and because I have received this knowledge I feel impressed to share it with everyone. Who wouldn’t want to know the comforting and glorious news that we have a Heavenly Father who is watching over us and wants to bless us? We are his literal children! A scripture that comes to mind is one in the Book of Mormon, when Jesus Christ is ministering among the Nephites. He says:

“Or what man is there of you, who, if his son ask bread, will give him a stone? Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent? If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father who is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” (3 Nephi 14:9-11)

This scripture clearly illustrates to me how much our Father in Heaven wants to bless us and give “good gifts” to us. And that’s something that I never really thought of before. That he wants to bless us. That he actually consciously thinks about us individually and cares enough to have a desire to give us things. He loves us enough to put forth the effort to help us and give us things we ask for. That’s so wonderful to me. The words to the song Amazing Grace come to mind as I think of this…

“Amazing grace! How sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see. The Lord has promised good to me
. His word my hope secures;
 He will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.”

The line that sticks out to me is “The Lord has promised good to me.” And he really, truly has. As we obey his commandments and do the right things, The Lord has promised good things to us. This promise is found in Doctrine & Covenants. I really love this scripture because it clearly outlines that the Lord wants to bless us, and is actually bound to bless us as long as we are obeying his commandments.

 I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.” (Doctrine & Covenants 82:10)

My message today is simple: Our Heavenly Father truly, really, and eternally loves each and every one of his children. That’s us. We are his children. He wants to bless us and he has to bless us as we live righteously! That’s his job! Heck, he’s already blessed us with so many wonderful things. Some of these things are the Atonement of Jesus Christ, Prophets to guide us through life’s dark times, the Scriptures that have eternal truths within them that can benefit and bless us throughout our lives and beyond, and so forth. There are so many blessings God has already poured out unto us, and there is tons more waiting for us as we turn to Christ and choose to follow him.

I know that this is true. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

meme-gerald-causse-stranger-1219882-gallery

What is one thing you can do to strengthen your relationship with your Father in Heaven?

Leave a Reply

